Jean Falconer Literary Competition 2002
Home ] Up ] Photo Galleries ] Town Guides ] Notables ] Community ] News ] Places ] History ] Search ] Contact Us ]

THE Jean Falconer Literary Competition again produced a high standard of writing among Maybole school pupils. And judges had an incredibly difficult task to pick winners in a competition which commemorates a founder member of Maybole Community Council. Jean was a respected journalist, and her community council colleagues felt a literary competition was an appropriate way to remember her. Jean's mother Nell Samson presented trophies and certificates, and ex-Provost Danny MacNeill handed over pictorial histories of Maybole. Maybole Community Development Group made a special donation this year of 5 Jubilee coins. And these were handed over by South Ayrshire Council leader, Councillor Andy Hill. Maybole Community Council thanked every- one who helped make the annual competition a success, and award-winners were:. Senior competition (all Carrick Academy): 1, Gavin Kean; 2, Annise Wilson; 3, Gareth Dowse; 4, Colin McRae. Junior: 1, Allison McGregor, St Cuthbert's; 2, Claire Strang, St Cuthbert's; 3, Caroline Kennedy, Cairn; highly commended, Eilidh Gerrish, Gardenrose; Jemma Scobie, Cairn; 3, Melissa Paton, St Cuthbert's.

Word class: pupils who excelled in this year's Jean Falconer Literary Competition, at the presentation ceremony

In their own write: top prizewinners Allison McGregor of St Cuthbert's Primary and Gavin Kean of Carrick Academy